Minorities in Franchises

Blue MauMau's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2012

Friday, October 19, 2012

By Rob Bond

The National Minority Franchising Initiative and the World Franchising Network have conducted a survey on minorities in franchising for USA Today - Franchising Today for the past six years. The articles have been titled "50 Top Franchises for Minorities." The objective has been to determine which franchise systems do the best job of recruiting and providing ongoing support to minorities (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, South Asia, etc.).

Selection as one of the Top 50 companies was based upon:

  1. The percentage of franchised outlets and company-owned outlets that are owned or managed by minorities;
  2. The percentage of minorities within senior management; and
  3. A review of each company's Franchise Disclosure Document to ensure that we weren't inadvertently recommending a company that might be problematic.

Several hundred franchisors submitted materials for consideration.

Clearly, the companies selected in this year's article all do an excellent job of supporting minorities in franchising. Of the 50 companies listed in this year's a survey, however, it is interesting to note that many of the same companies have been selected all four of the most recent four years, and many others have made the list in three out of the past four years. Those that are listed for multiple years are clearly outstanding franchise systems in terms of minority representation. It is also interesting to note that the maintenance industry and the insurance industry have historically had the highest participation within their ranks. The food-service industry comes in third.

Notwithstanding the gradual increase in the percentage (currently estimated at ~15%) of minority franchisees within the overall franchising community, this is still a long way from the 28% minority representation in the public at large. Hopefully, those companies listed here will continue to attract minorities to their systems and to prosper for having the wisdom and foresight to reach out to minorities.

The yellow rows are chains that have made the list of the top 50 brands for three years with the largest percentage of minority franchise owners. The green rows are brands that have made the list for all four years.

COMPANY 2012 2011 2010 2009 INTERNET
360clean 360clean.com
7-Eleven 7-11.com
Always Best Care Senior Services abc-seniors.com
Anago Cleaning Systems anagousa.com
ATAX Accounting/Financial Services atax.com
Bricks 4 Kidz bricks4kidz.com
Burger King whopper.com
Charley's Grilled Subs charleys.com
Chem-Dry Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning chemdry.com
Choice Hotels (Clarion, Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, EconoLodge) choicehotels.com
Church's Chicken churchs.com
CleanNet USA cleannetusa.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System coverall.com
Cruise Planners cruiseplanners.com
CruiseOne cruiseonefranchise.com
Denny's dennys.com
Doc Popcorn docpopcorn.com
Estrella Insurance estrellainsurance.com
Fiesta Insurance fiestainsurance.com
Flame Broiler flamebroilerusa.com
Franchise Source Brands (Entrepreneur's Source, AdviCoach) franchisesource.com
Honest-1 Auto Care honest-1.com
i9 Sports i9sports.com
Jack in the Box jackinthebox.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems jan-pro.com
Juice It Up! juiceitup.com
Kahala Brands (Blimpie, Cold Stone, Great Steak, TacoTime) kahalamgmt.com
Kiddie Academy kiddieacademy.com
Liberty Tax libtax.com
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com
Maid to Perfection maidtoperfection.com
Maids, The maids.com
McDonald's aboutmcdonalds.com
Miami Subs miamisubs.com
Mint Condition mintconditioninc.com
New York Pizzeria nypizzeria.com
Papa John's papajohns.com
Pop-A-Lock popalock.com
Pronto Insurance prontofranchise.com
Re/Max remax.com
Red Roof Inn redroof.com
Service Brands (Molly Maid, Mr. Handyman) servicebrands.com
ServiceMaster (ServiceMaster Clean, Merry Maids, Furniture Medic) servicemaster.com
Starwood Hotels (Four Points, Sheraton, Westin) starwoodhotels.com
Street Corner streetcorner.com
Tutor Doctor tutordoctor.com
United Franchise Group (Sign-A-Rama, EmbroidMe) ufgcorp.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems vanguardcleaning.com
Wingstop wingstop.com
WSI wsiworld.com