50 Top Franchises for Minorities (2013)

USA Today's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2013

Friday, October 25, 2013

By Rob Bond and C. Everett Wallace

The National Minority Franchising Initiative (NMFI) recently completed its seventh annual survey to analyze the progress of minorities within the franchising community. From over 400 detailed responses, two overarching conclusions can be drawn. First, the overall percentage of minority participation in the franchise industry continues to grow. Second, while ownership among African-Americans has increased, there have been substantial increases in the number of Hispanics, Asian-Americans and Other (generally Indian and Middle Eastern) minorities who own franchises. Although there is no conclusive way to interpret this increase from the returned questionnaires, our sense is that these groups are attracted to the business by three primary factors:

  1. Technical and/or language skills are not required in many of the industries highlighted
  2. The cost of entry is generally modest, and
  3. Franchisor management has specifically prioritized the aggressive recruitment and on-going support of these groups.

The long-term key here is on-going support.

The questionnaire, designed by NMFI (a subsidiary of the World Franchising Network), asked franchisors two primary questions:

  1. List the minority (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, South Asian, etc.) participation among franchised and company-owned units, and
  2. Indicate the minority representation among senior management.

From the 400+ questionnaires returned, we selected 50 companies that are clear leaders in the industry. The subsequent list of 50 Top Franchises for Minorities is an excellent starting point in your search for an optimal franchise that meets your needs, experience and financial capabilities. While the percentage of minority participation is certainly a factor in the selection process, your primary focus should be on a company’s reputation within the marketplace, their on-going support of their franchisees, their financial stability, and whether you can make a return on your investment (both financial and time committed) as a franchisee. The single most important factor, however, though it is difficult to determine, is the success and happiness among the existing franchisees, particularly the minority segment. Among the 50 franchisors selected, we thought it might be helpful to highlight several representative companies that have exceptional records in the minority makeup of their franchised operations and/or senior management.

Company Total Units Minority % Management % Industry
7-Eleven 7,761 57% 19% Convenience
Anago Cleaning Systems 2,431 89% 50% Maintenance
Charleys Philly Steaks 507 66% 43% Food-Service
Church's Chicken 1,205 78% 44% Food-Service
Coverall North America 9,134 86% 8% Maintenance
Denny's 1,683 47% NR Food-Service
Estrella Insurance 62 100% 100% Insurance
Eye Level Learning Centers 191 74% 69% Child Learning
Fiesta Auto Insurance 151 85% 33% Insurance
Flame Broiler, The 142 97% 100% Food-Service
Genghis Grill 111 46% 100% Food-Service
Golden Krust Bakery 107 100% 90% Food-Service
Jan-Pro 10,120 85% 14% Maintenance
Jani-King International 10,000 60% 20% Maintenance
Kiddie Academy 115 51% NR Child Learning
Manchu Wok 140 64% 38% Food-Service
Pronto Insurance 124 97% 100% Insurance
Regal Nails 874 99% 83% Beauty Services
Vanguard Cleaning Systems 2,794 88% 33% Maintenance

If you are considering investing in a franchise, the NMFI (WorldFranchising.com) has various resources (detailed franchisor profiles, links, access to publications, FDDs, Item 19s, etc.) that could be of assistance. Our advice is to always do your homework.

50 Top Franchises for Minorities

Selected by the National Minority Franchising Initiative - NMFI

Company Internet
360Clean 360clean.com
7-Eleven franchise.7-11.com
Always Best Care Senior Services alwaysbestcare.com
Anago Cleaning Systems anagousa.com
ATAX Accounting & Financial Services ataxfranchise.com
Bricks 4 Kidz bricks4kidz.com
BurgerFi burgerfi.com
Charley's Grilled Subs charleys.com
Choice Hotels International choicehotelsfranchise.com
Church's Chicken churchsfranchise.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System coverall.com
CruiseOne cruiseonefranchise.com
Denny's dennysfranchising.com
Doc Popcorn docpopcorn.com
Engineering for Kids engineeringforkids.net
Estrella Insurance estrellainsurance.com
Eye Level Learning Center myeyelevel.com
Fantastic Sams fantasticsamsfranchises.com
Fiesta Auto Insurance and Tax Service fiestafranchise.com
Five Star Painting fivestarpaintingfranchise.com
Flame Broiler, The flamebroilerusa.com
Gateway Cigar Store/Newstands gatewaynewstands.com
Genghis Grill - The Mongolian Stir-Fry genghisgrill.com
Golden Krust Caribbean Bakery & Grill goldenkrustbakery.com
Jani-King International janiking.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems jan-pro.com
KFC kfcfranchise.com
Kiddie Academy kiddieacademy.com
KidzArt kidzart.com
Liberty Tax Service libertytaxfranchise.com
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com
Maids, The themaidsfranchise.com
Manchu Wok (USA) manchuwok.com
Massage Heights massageheights.com
McDonald's Corporation aboutmcdonalds.com
Mint Condition mintconditioninc.com
NYS Collection Eyewear nyscollection.com
Papa John's Pizza papajohns.com
Plan Ahead Events planaheadevents.com
Pop-A-Lock popalock.com/franchising
Pronto Insurance prontofranchise.com
RE/MAX remax.com
Regal Nails Salons & Spa regalnails.com
ServiceMaster Clean ownafranchise.com
Seva Beauty sevabeauty.com
Street Corner streetcorner.com
Tropical Smoothie Café tropicalsmoothiecafe.com
Tutor Doctor tutordoctoropportunity.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems vanguardcleaning.com
WSI wsicorporate.com