Veterans Appreciated and Heartily Welcomed by the Franchising Community

Friday, June 20, 2014

By Rob Bond and Annie Barbarika

In this fifth annual survey of veteran participation in franchising, we have found that the impact of recruitment and retention of veterans is increasingly positive. Given the negative news surrounding the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, coupled with the VA scandals, the franchising community as a whole should be extremely proud of the leadership role it has assumed and the constructive impact it has had on recent veterans. Across the board, franchisors are aggressively recruiting veterans with incentives in the areas of reduced or waived franchise fees, reduced and/or deferred royalty payments, free or heavily discounted “start-up” packages, and other enticements.

Given the difficulty of comparing companies based solely on their incentive packages, we have instead focused on the more meaningful end result. We looked at how many veterans are currently in the system, whether as a franchisee or as a manager of a company-owned unit. The accompanying chart lists 50 exceptional franchisors who have clearly seen the value of having veterans in their systems.

To find out about each company’s specific programs for the Top 50 companies listed below and other prominent franchisors actively recruiting veterans please go to www.WorldFranchising.com and click on Franchises for Veterans from the Search tab. The International Franchise Association has also taken a strong leadership role in supporting the veteran community. Visit www.Franchise.org/Veteran-Franchise.aspx for a list of active members in their hugely successful VetFran program.

Although the Top 50 list considers only franchisors with over 40 operating units, there are several franchisors with less than 40 units that offer highly-competitive programs and incentives.

Franchisor % Veteran-Owned or Managed Units
Advanced Maintenance 44% of 18 Units/100% Management Vets
BlueGrace Logistics 31% of 22 Units
Engineering for Kids 50% of 10 Units
Honest-1 Auto Care 35% of 26 Units
IslandTime Treasures 40% of 10 Units/33% Management Vets

One company that exemplifies the recruitment of veterans is the Dwyer Group. They have seven concepts under their umbrella, several of which are listed in the Top 50 chart. One concept, Mr. Rooter, is also managed by Mary Kennedy Thompson as President. Mary is one of the few industry presidents who was also on active duty (8 years in the Marine Corps).

Prospective franchisees, however, should not be tempted solely by discounts and/or other incentives that are offered. Primary consideration should be given to the products and/or services provided by the franchisor, the level of initial training offered, the ongoing support of franchisees, and, most importantly, the level of satisfaction among existing franchisees. A $50,000 savings today in a marginally competitive system would be money poorly spent. Take several weeks or even months to properly evaluate multiple systems. Once you have narrowed down the list, talk with a minimum of 20 existing franchisees and assess whether or not they would recommend that a family member join the system. Ask the franchisor to specifically identify veterans in their system. Given the strong bonds among the military community, my guess is that veterans in franchising will be very candid about their level of satisfaction. A well-executed due diligence plan will provide a source of financial stability and pride. A poorly executed decision, however, will be a long-term nightmare. So, do your homework.

50 Top Franchises for Military Veterans

Company Internet
360clean 360clean.com
ACFN - The ATM Franchise Business www.aireservfranchise.com
Aire Serv Heating & Air Conditioning www.aireservfranchise.com
Always Best Care Senior Services www.alwaysbestcare.com
AmeriSpec Home Inspection Service www.amerispecfranchise.com
Anytime Fitness www.anytimefitness.com/franchise
Archadeck www.archadeckfranchise.com
Baskin-Robbins www.baskinrobbinsfranchising.com
Boulder Designs www.boulderdesigns.net
Brickhouse Cardio Club www.brickhousecardio.com/franchising
BrightStar Care www.brightstarfranchise.com
Caring Transitions www.caringtransitions.net
Chem-Dry Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning www.chemdryfranchise.com
CMIT Solutions www.cmitfranchise.com
Color Glo International www.colorglo.com
CruiseOne www.cruiseonefranchise.com
Doc Popcorn www.docpopcorn.com
Driven Brands (MAACO and Meineke) www.drivenbrands.com
Dunkin' Donuts www.dunkinfranchising.com
FASTSIGNS www.fastsigns.com
FirstLight HomeCare www.firstlightfranchise.com
Fresh Coat www.freshcoatpaintersfranchise.com
Furniture Medic www.furnituremedicfranchise.com
Griswold Home Care www.griswoldhomecare.com
The Grounds Guys www.groundsguysfranchise.com
Growth Coach, The www.thegrowthcoach.com
Happy & Healthy Products www.happyandhealthy.com
HomeTeam Inspection Service, The www.hometeamfranchise.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems www.jan-pro.com
Kiddie Academy www.kiddieacademy.com
Liberty Tax Service www.libertytaxfranchise.com
Little Caesars www.littlecaesars.com
Little Gym, The www.thelittlegym.com
Maui Wowi Hawaiian Coffees And Smoothies www.mauiwowifranchise.com
McDonald's aboutmcdonalds.com
Molly Maid www.mollymaid.com
Mosquito Squad www.mosquitosquadfranchise.com
Mr. Appliance Corporation www.mrappliance.com
Mr. Rooter www.mrrooterfranchise.com
Mr. Transmission, Milex and Alta Mere (Moran Family of Brands) www.moranfamilyofbrands.com
MRINetwork www.mrifranchise.com
Outdoor Lighting Perspectives www.outdoorlights.com
Padgett Business Services www.smallbizpros.com
Pillar To Post Home Inspectors www.pillartopost.com/franchise
ProTect Painters www.protectpaintersfranchise.com
Snap-on Tools www.snaponfranchise.com
Sport Clips www.sportclipsfranchise.com
Surface Specialists www.surfacespecialists.com
Tutor Doctor www.tutordoctor.com
U.S. Lawns www.uslawnsfranchise.com
Wild Birds Unlimited www.wbu.com