50 Top Franchises for Minorities (2011)

USA Today's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2011

Friday, November 04, 2011

By Rob Bond and Catherine Morris

The National Minority Franchising Initiative recently completed its fourth annual survey to determine the progress of minorities within the franchising community. The good news is that minorities continue to make exceptional progress in increasing their representation in this arena. The bad news is that there is still a disparity, though dwindling, between minority ownership (generally put at 15+%) and their representation within the population at large - approximately 28%. Progress is slower than most would wish, but clearly on the right track.

This progress is due to two primary factors: 1) the strong work ethic, willingness to play by the rules, entrepreneurial instincts, and mental toughness of minorities when times get tough (like today!) and 2) the significant marketing efforts implemented by franchisors to attract and support minorities within their systems. Franchisors clearly realize that their brands are not properly represented in underserved communities and are making significant efforts to close that financial gap.

The National Minority Franchising Initiative received over 450 responses to this year's survey. The questionnaire asked franchisors to list the minority (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, South Indian, etc.) participation among their existing franchised and company-owned units, as well as the minority representation among senior management which is defined as management with an annual salary in excess of $60,000. The companies that scored the highest are listed below. These ten franchisors have clearly been exceptionally successful in their efforts to recruit minorities.

Each company has in excess of 1,000 operating units. In each case, over 33% of their franchisees are minorities. Most also have a significant number of minorities within their management ranks. Given the relatively low cost of entry, one would expect greater participation within the maintenance industry, which is clearly evident. The last four companies, however, are in the food-service and service industries, which generally have a very high cost of entry.

Company Total Units Minority Units Participation Industry
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System 8,700 7,917 91% Maintenance
Bonus Building Care 1,793 1,704 95% Maintenance
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems 12,870 10,100 78% Maintenance
Vanguard Cleaning Systems 2,388 2,108 88% Maintenance
Stratus Building Solutions 5,132 4,772 93% Maintenance
Church’s Chicken 1,241 927 75% Food-Service
Jack in the Box 2,222 1,632 73% Food-Service
Auntie Anne's Hand-Rolled Soft Pretzels 1,130 442 39% Food-Service
Anytime Fitness 1,635 698 43% Health & Fitness
Liberty Tax Service 3,575 1,178 33% Tax Services

The list of 50 Top Franchises for Minorities is an excellent starting point in your search for an optimal franchise that meets your needs. The percentage of minority franchisees is not an overarching factor in selecting a franchise. To the extent that you are a minority, however, there is no question that these companies are clearly doing something right and that they actively support your inclusion within their systems.

The National Minority Franchising Initiative has various resources including books, FDDs, etc. that could be of use to you if you are considering pursuing a franchise. For access to these and for more detailed information on franchises actively seeking minority franchisees, please visit MinorityFranchising.com.

50 Top Franchise for Minorities

Selected by the National Minority Franchising Initiative - NMFI

Company Internet
Always Best Care Senior Services alwaysbestcare.com
Anago Cleaning Systems anagousa.com
Anytime Fitness anytimefitness.com
Auntie Anne's Hand-Rolled Soft Pretzels auntieannes.com
Bonus Building Care bonusbuildingcare.com
BrightStar Care brightstar.com
Burger King Corporation whopper.com
Captain D's captainds.com
Charley's Grilled Subs charleys.com
Church's Chicken churchs.com
Color Me Mine colormemine.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System coverall.com
CruiseOne cruiseone.com
Cruise Planners/American Express cruiseplanners.com
Entrepreneur's Source, The (AdviCoach, Entrepreneur's Source) franchisesource.com
Estrella Insurance estrellainsurance.com
Express Employment Professionals expressfranchising.com
Fiesta Auto Insurance and Tax Service fiestainsurance.com
Flame Broiler, The flamebroilerusa.com
Focus Brands (Carvel, Cinnabon, Moe's, Schlotzsky's) focusbrands.com
Game Truck gametruckparty.com
I9 Sports i9sportsfranchise.com
Jack in the Box Inc. jackinthebox.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems jan-pro.com
Kahala Brands (Blimpie, Cold Stone Creamery, Great Steak & Potato) kahalacorp.com
Kiddie Academy kiddieacademy.com
L & L Hawaiian Barbecue hawaiianbarbecue.com
Liberty Tax Service libertytaxfranchise.com
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com
Maid Brigade maidbrigade.com
Maids, The maids.com
Mathnasium Learning Centers mathnasium.com
McDonald's mcdonalds.com
Mr. Goodcents Subs & Pastas mrgoodcents.com
OpenWorks openworksweb.com
Padgett Business Services smallbizpros.com
Papa John's International papajohns.com
Pop-A-Lock popalock.com
Pronto Insurance prontoinsurance.com
Red Roof Inns redroof.com
Regal Nails regalnails.com
Saladworks saladworks.com
Service Brands International (1-800-Dryclean, Molly Maid, Mr. Handyman) servicebrands.com
ServiceMaster Company (Furniture Medic, Merry Maids, ServiceMaster Clean) servicemaster.com
Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide (Four Points, Sheraton, Westin) starwoodhotels.com
Stratus Building Solutions stratusclean.com
Straw Hat Pizza strawhatpizza.com
Street Corner streetcorner.com
Tasti D-Lite tastidlite.com
Tutor Doctor tutordoctor.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems vanguardcleaning.com
WSI wsicorporate.com