Top 50 Franchises for Minorities (2014)

USA Today's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2014

Monday, October 27, 2014

By Rob Bond, Annie Barbarika, and Yi Fan

The World Franchising Network recently completed its eighth annual survey of the progress that minorities have made within the franchising community. From over 380 detailed responses, there are two overarching observations that can be made. First, the overall percentage of minority participation continues to grow. Second, although ownership among African-Americans has increased marginally, there has been a more pronounced increase in the number of Hispanics, Asian-Americans and Other (generally Indian and Middle Eastern) minorities that own franchises. Our take-away is that these groups are attracted by three primary factors: 1) Technical and/or language skills are not imperative in many of the industries highlighted; 2) The cost of entry is generally modest; and 3) Franchisor management has aggressively targeted the recruitment and ongoing support of these groups - the key to long-term success.

The questionnaire (Go to www.worldfranchising.com.minorities/new) asked franchisors for information in two primary areas. 1) The minority (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, South Asian, etc.) participation among their franchised and company-owned units, and 2) The minority representation among senior management. The results of each company’s response in noted on our website. From the 380+ questionnaires returned, we selected 50 companies that are clear leaders in the industry. The adjacent list of 50 Top Franchises for Minorities is an excellent starting point in your search for an optimal franchise that meets your needs, experience, and financial capabilities.

Among the 50 franchisors selected, we thought it might be helpful to highlight several representative companies that have exceptional records in the minority makeup of their franchised operations and/or senior management.

Franchisor % Minority Franchised Units Industry
Mint Condition 100.0% Maintenance
Pronto Insurance 100.0% Insurance
Estrella Insurance 98.8% Insurance
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems 94.1% Maintenance
Vanguard Cleaning Systems 93.8% Maintenance
Anago Cleaning Systems 89.6% Maintenance
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System 89.0% Maintenance
Abrakadoodle Remarkable Art Education 81.4% Child Learning
Motel 6 50.7% Lodging
360clean 49.4% Maintenance
BodyLogicMD 42.2% Hormone Replacement
Aqua-Tots Swim Schools 40.7% Child Learning
Eye Level Learning Centers 40.1% Child Learning

Although the Top 50 list was reserved for franchisors with over 40 operating units, the companies below also demonstrated an exceptional minority participation.

Franchisor Total Units % Minority Franchised Units
Aladdin Doors (www.aladdindoorsfranchise.com) 2 100%
Teriyaki Madness (www.teriyakimadness.com) 15 93.3%
Bio-One Inc. (www.biooneinc.com) 23 65.2%
Centerstone Inns, Hotels, etc. (www.centerstonehotels.com) 8 50.0%
Rainbow Station (www.rainbowstation.com) 8 50.0%

Although the percentage of minority participation is clearly a factor in the process, your primary focus should be on a company’s reputation within the marketplace, their ongoing support of their franchisees, their financial stability and whether you can make a return on your investment (both financial and time committed) as a franchisee. The single most important, and often hardest to determine, factor, however, is the success and happiness among the existing franchisees, especially the minority contingent. It is incumbent on you to contact as many franchisees as possible to determine their level of satisfaction and whether or not they would recommend the franchise to a family member or friend.

If you are considering investing in a franchise, the World Franchising Network (www.WorldFranchising.com) has various resources (detailed franchisor profiles, links, access to publications, FDDs, Item 19s, etc.) that could be of assistance. Do your homework!

50 Top Franchises for Minorities

Company Internet
360clean 360clean.com
A Buyer's Choice Home Inspections www.abuyerschoice.com
Abrakadoodle Remarkable Art Education www.abakadoodle.com
ACFN - The ATM Franchise Business www.acfnfranchised.com
Aire-Master Of America www.airemaster.com
AlphaGraphics www.alphagraphicsfranchise.com
Always Best Care Senior Services www.alwaysbestcare.com
Anago Cleaning Systems www.anagocleaning.com
Anytime Fitness www.anytimefitness.com/franchise
Aqua-Tots Swim Schools www.aqua-tots.com
BodyLogicMD www.bodylogicmcd.com
Brickhouse Cardio Club www.brickhousecardio.com/franchising
Caring Senior Service www.caringfranchise.com
Caring Transitions www.caringtransitions.net
Chem-Dry Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning www.chemdryfranchise.com
Church's Chicken www.churchsfranchise.com
Color Glo International www.colorglo.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System www.coverall.com
Cruise Planners-American Express www.cruiseplannersfranchise.com
Denny's www.dennysfranchising.com
Estrella Insurance www.estrellainsurance.com
Eye Level Learning Centers myeyelevel.com
Fantastic Sams www.fantasticsamsfranchises.com
Growth Coach, The www.thegrowthcoach.com
Happy & Healthy Products www.happyandhealthy.com
I9 Sports www.i9sportsfranchise.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems www.jan-pro.com
Liberty Tax Service www.libertytaxfranchise.com
Little Caesars www.littlecaesars.com
Little Gym, The www.thelittlegym.com
Marco's Pizza www.marcosfranchising.com
McDonald's www.aboutmcdonalds.com
Mint Condition www.mintconditioninc.com
Motel 6 www.g6hospitality.com
Mr. Appliance Corporation www.mrappliancefranchise.com
Mr. Transmission, Milex and Alta Mere (Moran Family of Brands) www.moranfamilyofbrands.com
Padgett Business Services www.smalbizpros.com
Pak Mail www.pakmail.com
Pronto Insurance www.prontofranchise.com
Property Management Inc www.propertymanagementinc.com
RE/MAX International www.remax.com
Real Property Management www.propertymanagementfranchise.com
ServiceMaster Clean www.servicemasterfranchise.com
Tropical Smoothie Cafe www.tropicalsmoothiecafe.com
Tutor Doctor www.tutordoctoropportunity.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems www.vanguardcleaning.com
West Sanitation Services www.westindustries.com
Yogen Früz www.yogenfruz.com
Young Rembrandts youngrembrandts.com