Franchisors Actively Seek Minority Participation and Ownership

USA Today's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2009

Friday, October 02, 2009

By C. Everett Wallace and Blair Cavagrotti

Given that minorities make up more than 30% of the U.S. population, it should come as no surprise that they are actively sought after as prospective franchisees. Currently, however, minorities account for less than 15% of franchise owners. Because of this underrepresentation and the fact that the minority market is currently underserved by the franchising community as a whole, an increasing number of progressive franchisors are aggressively trying to attract and support minority franchisees. The National Minority Franchising Initiative (NMFI), an organization whose sole purpose is to expand the number of minorities in franchising, has selected fifty of the leading franchisors in this area, as noted in the accompanying list. Their inclusion was based on their overall minority recruitment program, the percentage of minority franchisees currently within their system, and the percentage of minorities in key positions within the franchisor’s management.

Selected franchisors were enthusiastic about the achievements of their minority franchisees. Many felt that diversity has greatly contributed to the overall growth and success of their franchise systems.

According to Brad Smith, VP of Franchise Licensing at Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems, minority franchisees have been a crucial factor in Jan-Pro’s accomplishments. “Being the fastest-growing franchise for two consecutive years — we attribute a lot of that success to our minority franchisees — they have enabled Jan-Pro to grow to over 10,000 units nationwide, and we aim to continue to attract minorities to fuel that growth by offering financing and a low-cost, low-investment opportunity.”

John Hewitt, President and CEO of Liberty Tax Service, notes that minorities are especially important in a tax service franchise “because when you’re located in a minority population, you need representatives who speak the language.” He adds that “the fact that minorities have done so well in our organization has been one of the keys to our success because once they do well, they have friends and relatives that pile on and add to the success. A lot of our franchisees are referral-based.”

When asked about their commitment to attracting and supporting minorities, selected franchisors were eager to describe the programs they have in place.

Martin Amschler, Chief Development Officer for NexCen Franchise Management, explains, “We offer a variety of incentives for potential franchisees, including minority groups, across our multiple franchised brands and are proud of our shared passion for developing franchised stores in diverse communities across the country and around the globe.”

"Little Caesars is a company made up of people from many different backgrounds and cultures. With our simple operating model and extensive training, Little Caesars offers an opportunity for people to experience independence and achieve the American Dream of becoming their own boss," says Robert Mazziotti, Vice President, U.S. Development, of Little Caesar Enterprises, Inc.

The following list is a starting point in your search for the best franchise that matches your interest and requirements. For more information about the individual companies included in this list and their programs, please visit their websites or go to MinorityFranchising.com.

Company Internet
Abrakadoodle Remarkable Art Education abrakadoodle.com
Accor North America (Motel 6, Studio 6) accor-na.com
AIM Mail Centers aimmailcenters.com
Anytime Fitness anytimefitness.com
Bonus Buliding Care bonusbuildingcare.com
Captain D’s captainds.com
Carlson Hotels Worldwide (Country Inns & Suites, Park Inn, Radisson) carlson.com
Cartridge World cartridgeworld.com
Choice Hotels International choicehotels.com
Church’s Chicken churchs.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System coverall.com
Cruise Planners/American Express cruiseplanners.com
Denny’s dennys.com
Express Employment Professionals expresspros.com
FAST-FIX JEWELRY AND WATCH REPAIRS fastfix.com
Focus Brands (Carvel, Cinnabon, Schlotzsky’s Deli, Moe's Southwest Grill) focusbrands.com
FranchisESource (AdviCoach, Business Partner Marketing Coach, Entrepreneur's Source, The) franchisesource.com
Froots Smoothies froots.com
Goddard School goddardsystems.com
Golden Krust Caribbean Bakery and Grill goldenkrustbakery.com
InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) ihg.com
Jack in the Box Inc. jackinthebox.com
Jani-King International janiking.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems jan-pro.com
Kahala Brands (Cold Stone Creamery, Blimpie, TacoTime, Great Steak & Potato) kahalacorp.com
Liberty Tax Service libtax.com
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com
Maid Brigade maidbrigade.com
Maid To Perfection mtpmaid.com
MaidPro maidpro.com
McDonald’s us.mcd.com
Mint Condition mintconditioninc.com
Moran Industries (Milex, Alta Mere, Mr. Transmission, SmartView) moranindustries.com
Nexcen Brands (Athlete's Foot, Maggie Moo's, Marble Slab Creamery, PretzelMaker) nexcenfm.com
Padgett Business Services smallbizpros.com
Planet Beach planetbeach.com
Pop-A-Lock popalock.com
PostNet postnet.com
PuroClean puroclean.com
Real Property Management realpropertymgt.com
Red Roof Inns redroof.com
Rita’s Italian Ice ritasice.com
Sales Partners Worldwide sp-ww.com
Salsarita’s Fresh Cantina Restaurant salsaritas.com
SarahCare sarahcare.com
Seniors Helping Seniors seniorshelpingseniors.com
ServiceBrands (1-800 DryClean, Molly Maid, Mr. Handyman, Protect Painters) servicebrands.com
ServiceMaster Brands (ServiceMasterClean, Furniture Medic, Merry Maids) ownafranchise.com
Strategic Franchising Systems (Caring Transitions, Fresh Coat, Growth Coach, Home Helpers) strategicfranchising.com
Togo's Eatery togos.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems vanguardcleaning.com
Volvo Rents volvo.com
Yoshinoya yoshinoyausa.com