50 Top Franchises for Minorities (2010)

USA Today's Top 50 Franchises for Minorities in 2010

Friday, November 05, 2010

By Rob Bond and Lisa Yu

There can be little doubt that minorities have made remarkable inroads in franchising over the past decade. Whereas minorities may have accounted for only 5 or 6% of total franchisees (and managers of company-owned units) in 2000, the consensus is that today they account for well in excess of 15%. This is quite a remarkable testament not only to the industry’s reaching out to minorities, but to the underlying values and entrepreneurial talents that minorities contribute.

The National Minority Franchising Initiative received over 400 responses to our annual survey. The questionnaire asked franchisors to list minority (African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, South Indian, etc.) participation among their existing franchised and company-owned units, as well as the minority representation among senior management (defined as an annual salary in excess of $60,000). Those companies that scored the highest are listed in the following table. The values most often cited for their increased participation were strong work ethic, tenacity when times get tough (like today), the ability to save and invest, their having overcome obstacles in their personal lives, and their willingness to follow the rules.

We contacted several franchisors who have enjoyed success with minorities to see if there is a secret formula. Bob Mazziotti, VP Franchise Development at Little Caesars notes that “We value the diversity of our franchisees and appreciate the unique perspectives they bring to our business. We offer a dynamic business opportunity for first-generation Americans.” Shelly Sun, President/CEO of Brightstar Care, credits their success in diversity to a “culture of inclusiveness and an overarching effort to make everyone feel welcome.” She notes that “as long as franchisees work hard and follow the model, they will succeed in our system.” Don Marks, CEO of Pop-A-Lock, feels their success with recruiting and supporting “minority entrepreneurs who truly want to provide strong customer service and security to their communities – i.e. how can we help.”

In terms of how to reach the minority audience, Alex Roberts, VP Franchise Development at Service Brands, credits their success to the fact that “We actively recruit and promote our franchise opportunities through minority specific web-portals and franchise consultants who specialize in placing minorities in franchises.”

A great example of exceptional overall minority participation is noted below for nine franchisors with over 1,200 total operating units. In each case, over 50% of their franchisees and managers of company-owned units are minorities. Given the relatively low cost of entry, one might expect greater participation within the maintenance industry. The last three companies, however, are in the food-service industry, which has a very high cost of entry.

Company Total Units Minority Units Participation Industry
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System 8,762 7,974 91.00% Maintenance
Bonus Building Care 2,750 2,491 90.60% Maintenance
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems 10,658 9,592 90.00% Maintenance
Vanguard Cleaning Systems 2,070 1,786 86.30% Maintenance
Stratus Building Solutions 4,500 3,623 80.50% Maintenance
Anago Cleaning Systems 2,176 1,674 76.90% Maintenance
Church's Chicken 1,254 938 74.80% Food-Service
Jack in the Box Inc. 2,235 1,533 68.60% Food-Service
Denny's 1,551 808 52.10% Food-Service

The following list of 50 Top Franchises for Minorities is an excellent starting point in your search for an optimal franchise for your needs. To the extent that you are a minority, there is no question but that these companies are clearly doing something right and that you will be in good company.

For more detailed information on franchises actively seeking minority franchisees, please visit MinorityFranchising.com.

50 Top Franchises for Minorities

Selected by National Minority Franchising Initiative - NMFI

Company Internet
Accessible Home Health Care accessiblehomehealthcare.com
AIM Mail Centers aimmailcenters.com
Always Best Care Senior Services alwaysbestcare.com
Anago Cleaning Systems anagousa.com
Anytime Fitness anytimefitness.com
Bonus Building Care bonusbuildingcare.com
BrightStar Care brightstarcare.com
Charley's Grilled Subs charleys.com
Choice Hotels International choicehotels.com
Church's Chicken churchs.com
Colbert/Ball Tax Service cb-taxservice.com
Coverall Health-Based Cleaning System coverall.com
Cruise Planners/American Express cruiseplanners.com
Denny's dennys.com
Driven Brands (Maaco, Meineke) drivenbrands.com
Dwyer Group (Mr. Appliance Corporation, Mr. Rooter) dwyergroup.com
El Pollo Loco elpolloloco.com
Express Employment Professionals expresspros.com
Fiesta Auto Insurance and Tax Service fiestainsurance.com
Flame Broiler, The flamebroilerusa.com
Focus Brands (Carvel Corporation, Cinnabon, Moe's, Schlotzsky's) focusbrands.com
Franchise Source Brands (AdviCoach, Entrepreneur's Source, The) franchisesource.com
Jack in the Box Inc. jackinthebox.com
Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems jan-pro.com
Kahala Brands (Blimpie, Cold Stone Creamery, Great Steak & Potato) kahalacorp.com
Kiddie Academy kiddieacademy.com
Liberty Tax Service libertytaxfranchise.com
Little Caesars littlecaesars.com
Maid Brigade maidbrigade.com
McDonald's mcdonalds.com
Mint Condition mintconditioninc.com
Mr. Goodcents Subs & Pastas mrgoodcents.com
Padgett Business Services smallbizpros.com
Pollo Campero campero.com
Pop-A-Lock popalock.com
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen popeyes.com
Pronto Insurance prontoinsurance.com
Pump It Up pumpitupparty.com
Real Property Management realpropertymgt.com
Red Roof Inns redroof.com
Rita's Italian Ice ritasice.com
Service Brands (1-800-Dryclean, Molly Maid, Mr. Handyman) servicebrands.com
ServiceMaster Brands (Furniture Medic, Merry Maids, ServiceMaster Clean) servicemaster.com
Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide starwoodhotels.com
Strategic Franchising Systems (Fresh Coat, Growth Coach, The, Home Helpers) strategicfranchising.com
Stratus Building Solutions stratusbuildingsolutions.com
Straw Hat Pizza and Restaurants strawhatpizza.com
Togo's Eatery togos.com
Vanguard Cleaning Systems vanguardcleaning.com
VR Business Brokers vrbusinessbrokers.com